Search

Just Another Liar by Mandy Byatt

Publication Date 20 01 2022


He says he loves you. He says you’re the only one. He’s just another liar…


Denise, Petra, and Anna all have their reasons for being alone. But they’re not ready to share them. David is the answer to all their problems. But they’ve only met him online. Each woman wants her happy ending. But only one of them can get it. One of these women will end up dead.

But which one? And will you ever work out who killed them?


Five Star Review


Succinct prose combined with a tightly plotted narrative make Just Another Liar a gripping read.


I don't know how many times I've used the phrase He's just another liar - to myself, daughters and friends. So when I spotted this book, it instantly struck a chord in me. I knew exactly what it was saying and what kind of book to expect. However, I was in for a much bumpier, twisted road than I ever could have imagined.


Denise, Petra, and Anna all have distinct voices and personal stories that lead them online in search of fulfilment. Readers will resonate with at least one of these characters if not all three. Byatt knows these women intimately and through her exquisite prose she allows us to eavesdrop on their desires and thoughts. Pulling us into their lives until their future becomes important to us. Until we care what happens to them.


That emotional attachment is what kept me hooked to the page. Along with the desperate need to find out who David was. So expertly does she weave a web of suspicion around him, that I doubted my thoughts at every new chapter. All I knew was that I despised him. But I wanted to know why. What makes a man do these things? And what would happen to the women?


We have all met just another liar at some time or another in our life. Combined with the change in our dating habits and the increase in online socialising, these people have the perfect place to hide. Byatt takes that idea and meticulously and skilfully crafts a stunning debut that is both poignant yet empowering.


It is sure to be snapped up by TV or Film. I can't wait to read more from Mandy Byatt. I hope it's soon. Just Another Liar is perfect for fans of Adele Parks and Liane Moriarty. Click on the image to buy.


Recent Posts

See All